Jay Leno, Conan O'Brien and Jimmy Fallon

by

I write a blog on HR issues, and I can’t sit by and watch the shenanigans at NBC without pleading for some common sense. It’s not a stretch to ask — if this is how they treat the talent, how do they treat their regular employees?

I have one question. What would Jack Donaghy do? [WWJDD]

*

I know NBC picked Leno over Conan — and I know they’re okay with this tough, strategic, and bold decision. (barf) Nevertheless, here’s a copy of the email I sent to NBC. Feel free to write your own.

*

From: Laurie Ruettimann <laurie@punkrockhr.com>

To: JOHN.ECK@nbc.com, Jeff.Gaspin@nbc.com, JEFF.ZUCKER@nbc.com, jeff.zucker@nbcuni.com, STEVE.CAPUS@nbc.com, ALLISON.GOLLUST@nbc.com, PAULA.MADISON@nbc.com, CORY.SHIELDS@nbc.com, JOHN.WALLACE@nbc.com, David.Verdi@nbc.com, Jeff.Zucker@nbc.com, Bob.Wright@nbc.com, LYNN.CALPETER@nbc.com, DICK.EBERSOL@nbc.com, MARK.HOFFMAN@nbc.com, MICHAEL.PILOT@nbc.com, david.verdi@nbc.com, MARC.CHINI@nbcuni.com, Alyssa.Corcoran@nbcuni.com, MICHAEL.BASS@nbcuni.com, MICHAEL.PILOT@nbcuni.com, Ron.Lamprecht@nbcuni.com

Date:   Tue, Jan 12, 2010 at 6:24 PM

Subject: Talent Management 101: Your Late Night Woes

This is the worst example of a talent management process in the history of mankind.  Human Resources professionals around the world are doing a better job than NBC/Universal.  When you’re doing it worse than HR, you’re doing it wrong.

Keep Conan at 11:35. Let Jay go to FOX. This is talent management 101.

Best,
Laurie Ruettimann
punkrockhr.com

*h/t to consumerist for the email addresses!

Previous post:

Next post:

Google